Flying Tiger, Re-enter the Dragon

What I like about living here is that it feels like there are 25 or even more hours in a day. I get to do everything that needs to be done and still have time to do things I wanted to do but didn’t have the time back then. For example, I only spend 5 minutes walking my daughter to school and back whereas in Jakarta it took me about 1 hour on a motorcycle every morning (and still she was almost late every time). By the time I got home from dropping her off, I was tired and almost always needed a nap. Here, after dropping her at school, I can sit down, have a cup of tea, and warm up my machine before taking a shower and work.

With all this “spare time”, I decided it’s time to make an online portfolio and sell my services. After 11 years in the field, I finally feel confident to say that I’m a LITERARY TRANSLATOR (considering I was originally trained as a graphic designer). I have yet to design, prepare the content, and publish it, but well, one step at a time and all that, right? Last month I already bought the domain. This month I hand-made a set of business cards. My translated books are all still inside the plastic boxes from relocating, but they will come out eventually one of these weeks. I will also need to put aside some money for the hosting service and time to figure out the technical parts.

Speaking of portfolio and spare time, last month I managed to spice things up a little by translating articles for in-flight magazine. So while waiting for the whole online portfolio thing, please enjoy my recent work for Tiger Tales Indonesia (October 2013). ๐Ÿ™‚

Check out the complete published version here.

6 thoughts on “Flying Tiger, Re-enter the Dragon

Leave a Reply

