17 x 2

Remember this?

Well, today is precisely two years since my late husband’s last day on earth. The day started with a drama of our housekeeper leaving for good (and for the better) but as it progressed everything felt lighter and happier. School was OK. My daughter didn’t cry when I picked her up. She ate her lunch without me having to remind her to chew. I got to sneak out of the house for a while to catch The Great Gatsby. Chitchat with a friend over Starbucks’s 50% off beverages (it’s their birthday). Did some grocery shopping and stuff. And on top of it all, my friend Stella gave birth to a baby girl!

Such news to end this chapter and begin a new one. I take it as my cue to turn May 17, which in the past two years has always been abouth death, into a day about being born. With that, I’m raising my glass to life. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

