Better Stories

I don’t know where this saying came from, but people say “Scars are tattoos with better stories.” Well, I have both, and to say that one is better than the other, I think, is like regretting what had happened or my own decisions. Which, for me, are both important parts of my life and probably shaped me into who I am today.

Anyway, let’s save the scars for another day and talk about tattoos. Mine, to be exact.

I have always wanted a tattoo since I was 24. I made a resolution that I had to have one before I turned 26. As for the “why” I wanted one, well, for one I was an art student–I guess it’s self-explanatory. And yeah, maybe because my then-boyfriend had 3 tattoos and he looked damn hot? Haha.

What do you know.. I never really got to doing it until 10 years later, which, I realize now, was for the better because had I done it when I was 24/25, I would probably have ended up with meaningless ones.. or angry ones, because eventually I broke up with the guy with the 3 tattoos. :p

And now, ladies and gentlemen, my tattoos, in chronological order:

20120929-014554.jpg

This first tattoo was done on December 2, 2010. I named it SAVED. It is my way of showing that I have chosen to believe in Jesus Christ as my saviour. A bit of background story: I was born into a mixed-belief family; my dad a moslem, my mom a christian. I was baptized when I was a baby but then my mom converted to Islam and I kinda lost my way. For years I prefered to answer that I have no religion when asked but when I prayed it was almost always the christian way. It was only when I met the man that later asked me to marry him and became my husband that I started going back to the church and got baptized again in 2003. In a way, I always think of my (late) husband as my personal saviour. The one that made me believe in a lot of things, including love (to God and to others). Hence, the Sacred Heart of Jesus. The tattoo is located on my left chest.

20120929-020350.jpg

The second one was done on March 29, 2011. I think every other person has a phoenix tattoo, but I have my reasons. I call this tattoo REBORN after I survived Thyroid Papillary Carcinoma a.k.a. thyroid cancer in 2008. I never thought that I would suffer from such illness so when the doctor told me that I had cancer and it had to be removed I was of course shocked. My life had never been the same afterwards because although it was removed and after a year I was declared cancer-free, I still need to manage the aftermath: hypothyroid & hypocalcemia conditions. God knows how frustrating it is to take supplements every day for the rest of my life and having to accept that this condition comes with moodswing episodes. But bottom line is, I survived. I was given a second life and there’s no way I’m giving up. That’s why I chose a phoenix, a mythical creature that has the ability to resurrect itself from the ashes and its tears heal. This tattoo is located on the right side of my back, near my right shoulder.

20120929-021657.jpg

Ah, the third one. This was done on July 9, 2011, after my husband passed away. It’s his full name with his D.O.B. & D.O.D., laid out in such a way to resemble a crown. To honor his name, I named this tattoo VICTORY. It was also to symbolize that he had won the “race” and is now home. The road to this tattoo, from pencil to ink, can be seen here. Oh, that little bear is me, kleinebeer. I put this tattoo at the center just below my nape. The cloud below the crown was then merged with the one below the phoenix.

A friend of mine, after seeing my [currently] last tattoo, said that it’s like me saying that I don’t want to find someone else.. Like it’s final. But hey, I still got lots of space on my body. Who knows, maybe I’d find that special man who would not mind my tattoos, respect my history, and confident that OUR story would make it to my “wall”. That, my friends, is another better story to look forward to, don’t you think? 😉

Leave a Reply

